Skip to content
June 17, 2014 / fionamakes

Skirts on my mind

I really do think skirts are the easiest garments to make. And I just realised that all the skirts I have in my closet are me-made. Must say I’m pretty pleased with that.

IMG_4412

This A-line skirt is really quick to sew up (only four pattern pieces!). A couple of weeks ago, this free pattern was released. It’s such a great basic piece. I like it in a pretty bold print. I snapped up this fabric at Spotlight a couple of weeks ago when they were having 40% off all garment fabrics, so it was a great buy. Very pleased with how this turned out!

I’ve had the Wiksten Tulip skirt pattern for a while now, but never got around to giving it a go. I found this spotty drill fabric at Chinatown last week and thought it would make a nice fit with the pattern.

IMG_4413

I paired the grey fabric with these minty buttons. The hem stitching was also done in mint green to match. I didn’t have any mint green topstitching thread on hand, so I used regular thread but in a triple stitch. It worked out great.

IMG_4432

There’s a little surprise on the inside! I was just a little short on the fabric requirements so I had to use something else from my stash for the waistband facings. Ice cream!

20140617-194823-71303381.jpg

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Half Mad Runner / Jun 17 2014 5:46 pm

    Thanks for the link to the free skirt pattern. It’s really cute and I have some fantastic fabric in my stash that’s perfect for it.

  2. teri dodds / Jun 18 2014 6:39 pm

    I love those skirts! And the ice cream waistband facing is fantastic.

    • fionamakes / Jun 19 2014 6:35 am

      Thanks! Oh and btw, I succumbed to the lure of the Belcarra blouse and just purchased the pattern… šŸ˜‰

  3. Kathryn / Jun 28 2014 5:07 pm

    I’m in love with the polka dot/ice cream skirt ā¤

  4. Line / Jun 29 2014 11:36 am

    Love the Wiksten Tulip skirt, although not sure it would be a great fit for me with my hips and bum :/ I just have to keep looking at everyone elses beautiful creations

Leave a Reply

