Skip to content
May 18, 2014 / fionamakes

More knits sewing!

Now that sewing with knits doesn’t seem as intimidating, I’ve been on a roll. (I also stocked up on some knits!)

20140518-193617.jpg

Another Skater dress for L, just like her last one but in a different fabric (a cotton jersey from Spotlight). This one seems to gape just a little at the centre front neckline though. Not quite sure why that is, maybe I didn’t stretch the neck binding enough there.

20140518-193927.jpg

A third Skater dress, but in the biggest size for E, who is 8. The fit is still a little loose on her even though she is already in the larger end of this size. This just means the dress should last for a longer time. I really like this cotton jersey from Spotlight; the wrong side feels especially soft. But I’m not sure this is the best color for E! Still, she’s happy with it and will wear it so it’s a win. (The leggings were her call.)

20140518-194300.jpg

I had just enough fabric from L’s second Skater dress to eke out this tennis skirt, which is a free pattern from Kitschy Coo’s website! I love it when I manage to use up the whole cut of cloth. The skirt is a very quick sew and looks cute too. I cut a size 5/6 for L, it fits around her waist but was a little short so I used just a quarter inch, instead of one inch, hem. Sadly, after her initial enthusiasm, E now refuses to wear it. She’s not keen on the waistband coming up so high on her waist.

More knits sewing ahead! I think I’ll have to try the short-sleeved Skater dress!

Leave a Reply

