Skip to content
May 10, 2014 / fionamakes

A birthday gift

It’s been a long while since I last sewed a bag but we were invited to a birthday celebration tomorrow and I wanted to make a gift! I spent the earlier part of the week thinking about what to make. I toyed with the idea of a wooden bead necklace but realised that I don’t usually see the birthday girl with accessories. I thought maybe an infinity scarf but nixed that because it really is too hot here for a scarf, even one made with the lightest of voiles. So a bag it was!

I picked out the bag pattern (Go Anywhere bag from Noodlehead) on Wednesday, spent some time figuring out which fabrics to use and finished sewing the bag by Friday afternoon.

20140510-212827.jpg

I love the pleats in the front pockets, just because I always have a soft spot for pleats! I added some lemon yellow piping for a bit of colour. Now I’m wondering if I should have gone with red! The bag (with all its pockets) is roomy so I’m hoping it’ll come in useful for the birthday girl, who’s a teacher. I divided the big back pocket into half which was different from the original instructions. I only had a normal magnetic snap so that’s what I used to close the bag – the instructions call for a sew-in magnetic snap. Never used one of those before, might have to try it the next time round.

20140510-214053.jpg

The fabric is some mysterious blue denim-like material for the main bag and Lotta Jansdotter Echo fabric for the outside pockets and bag lining. Very happy with how it turned out!

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. vickymcdougall / May 10 2014 2:57 pm

    Love the yellow trim and the bag looks amazing.

    • fionamakes / May 28 2014 5:54 am

      Aww, thanks! The birthday girl loves her bag so I’m super happy!

Leave a Reply

