Skip to content
May 6, 2014 / fionamakes

A Skater dress

Stop the presses! I made a knit dress!

Now this isn’t the first knit item I’ve made in the years that I’ve been sewing. But sometime last year, I sort of decided that I wouldn’t work with knits anymore. Seams came out wavy, so the finished item just didn’t look professional. I just decided that it wasn’t worth the trouble.

In the last few months though, L has been consisting rejecting all the clothes that I make for her and has only been wearing knits. Nothing like that sort of motivation to make you change your mind.

So I bought Kitschy Coo’s Skater dress pattern and pulled out one of two knit fabrics I have in my stash. This is the result.

20140506-101712.jpg

I love it and even better, so does she!

20140506-101752.jpg

I was surprised by how fast it was to sew up. It took me less than two hours and that was with very careful reading of the instructions. I think it helps also that this knit fabric behaved wonderfully. I think it’s a cotton interlock (or maybe it’s jersey?!) that I bought from Spotlight. Can’t remember why. I made the size 3/4 for my four-and-half year old. The sizing seems pretty generous so I’m hopeful the largest size will fit my older daughter.

I put it on L to test the fit and she asked to keep it on, so it’s a win! Everyone’s happy!

20140506-102113.jpg

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Gina C / May 18 2014 4:22 pm

    Very cute!!!

Leave a Reply

