Skip to content
April 12, 2014 / fionamakes

KCW #1 – a Hula Hoop skirt

This season’s Kids Clothes Week has been a lot less prolific for me. There has just been too much happening in life so it’s been hard trying to eke out some sewing time.

Anyway, I did manage to finish this skirt and another pair of pants that will be blogged later when I’ve photos to show.

This is the Oliver and S Hula Hoop skirt in a size 5 for my four-and-a-half-year-old. I’ve had this light minty green floral twill in my stash for a couple of years – it’s very lightweight and would have made a really nice dress but my girls only want to wear separates nowadays! I used a remnant piece of block-printed maroon cotton-linen blend for the other side (purchased in Vietnam, maybe two years ago?).

20140412-190501.jpg

20140413-142435.jpg

L loves that it twirls and I love that there’s no hemming! Must make another.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Nicole / Apr 12 2014 9:53 pm

    Your little girl is gorgeous. What a pretty skirt.

  2. Kathryn / Apr 17 2014 1:48 pm

    LOVE the way the opposite fabric peeks out on this skirt! It’s really sweet and different 🙂 She must get suck a kick out of being able to choose which side of her skirt to wear!

    • fionamakes / Apr 18 2014 12:12 pm

      Thanks, Kathryn! You’re right, she does like getting to choose which side peeks out! I didn’t think she would are but she does!

Leave a Reply

