Skip to content
March 30, 2014 / fionamakes

A Darling Ranges top in Nani Iro

I’ve seen plenty of Darling Ranges dresses on the blogosphere for a while but could never be sure that a dress with gathers would be flattering for me. So I was very glad to see a tunic version with no darts in the new PDF version of the pattern. It’s just the type of style that I find myself gravitating towards – a loose and easy fit.

I have had this Nani Iro Muji print for, hmm, maybe forever. I think I must have bought it close to when I first started sewing, but then never found the nerve to cut into it! It has quite a loose open weave with a lovely watercolor effect in grey.

So this when Nani Iro meets Darling Ranges.

20140330-193721.jpg

It’s pretty close fitting around the shoulders and top so I’m wondering if I should have gone with a bigger size. Otherwise I’m quite happy with it. I interfaced the plackets because the fabric has such a loose weave. And after a considerable amount of thought, I decided to go with pearl snaps down the front instead of buttons. There was some anxiety when I was putting them in!

>

20140330-194103.jpg

Leave a Reply

