Skip to content
March 15, 2014 / fionamakes

Dotty seersucker Weekend blouse

So. I’ve had this top finished for quite a while now but haven’t yet blogged about it because of, well, the sleeves!

This is what the top looked like originally.

20140315-195207.jpg

Just blouse length in a lightweight Japanese seersucker that I had bought for another top that never materialized. This time, I thought I’d try out the longer sleeves. It looks pretty good on the hanger, right? But it just hung really oddly on me. So after some thought I decided that I had to go with short sleeves after all.

20140315-195426.jpg

I had to hem the sleeves with the overlocking intact, which makes the sleeve hems a little more stiff but I think I can live with it.

20140315-195603.jpg

It looks a little boxy on me, I think. But it’s lightweight and so very comfortable in our hot weather, so it’s still a keeper!

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. connie.n.w. / Mar 15 2014 12:39 pm

    looks so professional! hmm..i wonder what it would look like if you made it into a tank or sleeveless. i agree w/you regarding the lightweightness, very helpful in warm weather.

    • fionamakes / Mar 15 2014 1:44 pm

      Thanks, Connie! I have to tell you – hearing (or reading) the words “looks so professional” is such a great compliment for a home sew-er!

      • connie.n.w. / Mar 15 2014 3:51 pm

        you are so talented.. a lot of clothes that are “professionally” made aren’t as good.

Leave a Reply

