Skip to content
March 10, 2014 / fionamakes

Moss skirt, the psychedelic version

I’m still on a Grainline Studio Moss skirt bent!

20140310-105636.jpg

I must admit that I had serious doubts about the fabric after I cut the skirt out. It just seemed like a lot was going on, and the colours were pretty bright. But in the time that I took to complete the skirt, it has definitely grown me! Now, I’m pretty chuffed with it.

20140310-105845.jpg

A shot of some of the deets: the pocket is lined and the waistband is faced with a light yellow lawn, the only fabric I could find in my stash that would match. A big purple button to finish the waistband. (My other skirt was finished with a skirt bar and hook.) The fabric is from Joel Dewberry and is a home dec weight. I think it’s called Empire Fan, maybe?

Instead of adding the hem band this time, I placed the hem band pattern abutting the skirt pattern piece when cutting out the skirt pieces. Then I hemmed it with a 1 1/2″ hem.

20140310-110223.jpg

Leave a Reply

