Skip to content
March 3, 2014 / fionamakes

My coping mechanism

So this skirt was my coping mechanism.

20140303-171528.jpg

Short version of the story is that we had a new family arrangement thrust upon us suddenly and early last week, and I was reeling from it. With all the anxiety and uncertainty, there was only one thing I could do.

I had to sew. So I pulled out a stone coloured denim that I had bought recently in Chinatown. It doesn’t have any drape but that’s ok for a Grainline Moss skirt. I had some head-scratching moments when sewing the zip fly but it was a success in the end! I did have to take a wedge out of the top of the centre back seam to make the skirt fit better. The waistband facing, hem facing and pocket lining are cut from Lotta Jansdotter’s Echo line (I think). And I opted to use a hook and bar to close the top of the front, rather than a button, just because I like the cleaner look.

I sorely needed this skirt, and not just because it was very calming to be making something. This skirt is such a great staple item and will replace a similar khaki skirt that I’ve had in my wardrobe for seven or eight years!

I wore it just yesterday with a Liesl + Co.’s Weekend blouse. The fabric is a little crisper than should be for this pattern, but I’ll live with it because I love the print so much (from Leah Duncan’s Tule line).

20140303-173027.jpg

A close up of the back pleat.

20140303-173151.jpg

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Ruth / Mar 4 2014 11:18 am

    It looks lovely 🙂

Leave a Reply

