Skip to content
February 15, 2014 / fionamakes

Secret Valentine Exchange: sent

A few weeks ago, I read about the Secret Valentine Exchange on one of my favourite blogs. What is it is basically like a secret Santa gift exchange, except for Valentine’s day.

I must confess I took a little time before I signed up for it. It sounded like great fun, of course, but it’s a little intimidating having to sew or make something for someone you don’t even know! Anyway, I did sign up. And this is what I came up with. (The organizers did give us a few hints about the person we were to make things for, so I knew that she liked turquoise and red and infinity scarves.)

20140215-093208.jpg

An infinity scarf in a Lisette voile that I pulled out of my stash. I has bought it from Spotlight a few months ago without anything specific in mind. I just liked the colour! I found that it’s really easy to make an infinity scarf: after cutting the fabric, it just took a few minutes to sew up. If only it were cool enough in Singapore to wear scarves…

20140215-093517.jpg

My second make was a wooden bead necklace. I have had these wooden beads in my stash for a while, just waiting for me to paint and varnish and string up into a necklace. The Secret Valentine Exchange gave me the push to finally get down to doing it. I chose to use navy blue with just one turquoise bead as a highlight.

20140215-093850.jpg

One final addition to the package of treats was this zip pouch. I used some scraps from a dress I had made. The print is batik which is quite indigenous to Southeast Asia.

All in all, I had lots of fun making these items. And I was quite excited to mail them off!

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Kristi / Feb 20 2014 3:23 pm

    Everything is lovely. I particularly love the bead necklace. I’m planning to make one for myself since seeing it in the flickr pool!

    • fionamakes / Feb 21 2014 1:31 am

      Thanks, Kristi! And I need to make one of those necklaces for myself too! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Secret Valentine Exchange Recap | Sanae Ishida

Leave a Reply

