Skip to content
February 2, 2014 / fionamakes

Kids Clothes Week #6: Black denim Sketchbooks shorts

Not much new to say about these shorts, other than I now make them for J in a size 12, which is the biggest size for Oliver and S patterns. What will I do when he outgrows these?!

20140202-222556.jpg

I used a lightweight black denim from Chinatown and topstitched where I could in a bright red topstitching thread. I eliminated the fly facing, just to simplify things a little.

20140202-222718.jpg

The pockets are lined in a black and white gingham – still using up those scraps! My kid really couldn’t care less what the insides of his pockets look like, but I like it that they’re there!

These make for a very comfortable pair of shorts so I hope they get lots of wear!

This is my last item for Kids Clothes Week. It’s been a lot of intense sewing and I only managed to get things done because I had a clear goal to work towards: getting the kids properly outfitted for the Chinese New Year. It’s time to take a break from kids clothes sewing for a while, I think! Sewing for me is up next!

Leave a Reply

