Skip to content
January 31, 2014 / fionamakes

Kids Clothes Week #4: A whale of a vest, and some Parsley pants

Happy Chinese New Year!

Today marks the first day of the lunar new year and we spent most of the day visiting our family, decked out in new clothes, of course!

After a spate of sewing for my girls, it was time for the boys. Now, I have to confess that I always find sewing for boys a little boring. It’s either a shirt or shorts or pants, right? So apart from a couple of pairs of pants for my boys, I decided on a vest too.

20140201-090415.jpg

Pattern: Little Lizard King Reversible Vest, size 6.
Fabric: Ann Kelle Urban Zoologie, Robert Kaufman

A vest is a very quick sew and I used a technique I learnt from sewing a reversible girls’ tunic last year to finish the vest so that there would no hand sewing and only a little visible seam on the inside of the vest.

I also pulled out my Parsley pant pattern to sew up this pair for N.

20140201-090850.jpg

This is the flat front, with pintucks down the front only, and cargo pockets. I had this forest green piece of cotton sateen in my stash for a while. I got on clearance from Spotlight a while ago (that seems to be a general theme for me). I don’t know why it photographs as a muddy brown colour!

This pair of pants was a last minute decision. I decided to start on it late one night. Because the pant pieces are cut as one piece, instead of a front and back pant leg, I figured it would be fairly quick. The next morning, after I had finished the cargo pockets, but thankfully before I sewed up each pant leg, I realised I’d forgotten to do the pintucks. I had to unpick a little of each cargo pocket flap to finish the pintucks. Nothing too drastic.

20140201-091842.jpg

The whole outfit, with a store-bought polo t-shirt.

Leave a Reply

