Skip to content
January 30, 2014 / fionamakes

Kids Clothes Week #3: Echo Roller Skate tunic

The Oliver and S Roller Skate tunic pattern isn’t a new one to me. When I first made it up last year, I went for the quick round-neckline version because I thought the other version with the pointed facing-on the-outside would be too fiddly. I must have been in a time crunch then!

Well, I’m still in a time crunch now, but this time I decided to commit myself to the process! I found this remnant piece of fabric from Lotta Jansdotter’s Echo line in my fabric stash. I love it. There was a little left over from making a boy’s shirt and it was just enough for this tunic! I dug around in my box of scraps and managed to find just enough turquoise linen left over from a pair of pants I made for myself last year, for the facing. It was completely fortuitous that the turquoise matched so perfectly.

20140130-222811.jpg

I learned some lessons from my previous version too! This tunic is in a size 7 for my older daughter, E. Her earlier version was hardly worn because she didn’t like the feel of the elastic around her body, even though I tried to make it loose enough for comfort. This time, I left off the elastic completely. Instead, I added a couple of ties to the back to help cinch in the tunic a little. To make the ties, I cut a length of fabric about an inch wide selvedge to selvedge. I folded this strip like I was making double-fold bias tape and sewed that down. Then I just halved the strip and attached each tie to the side seam of the tunic, roughly three or four inches down from the bottom of the armhole.

20140130-223301.jpg

In the end, I loved the addition of the contrast facing around the neckline. Sure, it took a little more time, but I love how the v-notch and the point below it look. A lot.

Pattern: Oliver and S Roller Skate tunic, size 7
Fabric: remnant piece of Lotta Jansdotter Echo fabric, lined in off-white voile from Chinatown

Leave a Reply

