Skip to content
January 13, 2014 / fionamakes

Upside down caramel banana cake

Ugh! Three errors in the process of baking this cake!

Mistake number 1 – I burnt the caramel the first time round. Rookie mistake. I underestimated how quickly it would burn. There was no saving it since there was a distinct burnt smell.

Mistake number two – I set up the butter and sugar in a clean pot to have another go at the caramel. I was a lot more careful this time, so the caramel turned out great. But instead of pouring the caramel into the baking tin right away, I let it cool for a bit. By the time I decided it was a good time to pour, the caramel had hardened into one big solid piece of candy in the pot. Reheating it did NOT work. The butter separated from the sugar so that there was a layer of oil in the pan and the sugar turned grainy. Sigh.

At this point, I gave up. Especially since I remembered that there was a small jar of salted caramel sauce in my fridge. Hooray! That would do nicely.

The batter was made and the cake went into the oven. It baked for the recommended amount of time and turned a light golden brown. Lovely. When I tested the cake to see if it was done, the toothpick came out clean. Really, it did.

So I pulled the cake out and let it cool. Twenty minutes later and it was time to flip it onto a plate. Looked ok at a glance. But then, oh no. Was the centre of the cake wobbling?! No, no, no! Yes. Yes, it was. I have to say, I’ve never underbaked a cake this much before. It was like jelly.

I had to flip the cake back into yet another cake pan and basically re-bake the cake. I let it get a much darker brown this time. Just to be safe, you know.

Anyway, it was finally done. I even cut a slice to check that it was really, truly baked through. And so this is it.

20140113-192550.jpg

Notwithstanding all that drama, the cake actually turned out pretty well. The kids like it at least. I’m determined to bake this again, just so I can do it without any mistakes this time. Recipe is from here.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. cinnamonsheep / Jan 13 2014 11:38 am

    The cake looks pretty good though! šŸ˜‰ the first time I made the cake it was underdone too and I had to bake it again. But the second time I was lucky with a perfectly cooked cake. It was really moist and sweet! šŸ˜‰ hope your next try turns out better!

    • fionamakes / Jan 13 2014 12:41 pm

      Thanks! I hope so too, since I do want to give it another try! šŸ˜Š

Leave a Reply

