Skip to content
January 1, 2014 / fionamakes

Various bits of crafting

Happy new year! I can hardly believe a new year is upon us. The older two return to school tomorrow and the younger two get to go back on Friday. We’ve had a break of six weeks and it’s been a very full six weeks! We went two trips, one a missions trip to Surabaya and the other a family vacation to Taiwan. The older kids have also had plenty of sleepovers at the grandparents’, while the younger kids had two different day camps. We had a lovely Christmas with family and dear friends. All in all, it’s been a lovely vacation, with plenty of time for the children to rest and recharge.

We managed to get in a couple of crafts over the last two days. Over Christmas, my godsister gifted us a little village of gingerbread houses in a kit, ready to be decorated. I toyed with the idea of doing them myself but the kids would never have forgiven me! So they got to have a go yesterday even though it was way past Christmas.

20140101-211144.jpg

This is the little village they (and I) came up with. It wasn’t as stressful as I thought it was going to be, and in the end, I was mainly panicking about the amount of sugar that they were about to devour, rather than the mess that I thought would happen. I have to admit, it was a fun time.

On another note, now that Christmas is over, almost all the malls have quickly switched their decorations to prepare for the Chinese New Year which will take place this year at the end of January. It gave me a little inspiration to get our decorations switched over too, so today I finished this new bunting with a little help from my girls.

20140101-211639.jpg

We almost never have any Chinese decorations up because I never manage to find anything that doesn’t look tacky and over the top. But, then I found these cut-outs of the 12 animals in the Chinese zodiac, at the supermarket of all places! I just glued them onto cardstock that had tiny silvery flecks in them, and strung on some ribbon.

We are almost through with the year of the snake, and we’ll be entering the year of the horse come the new year.

20140101-211922.jpg

I like that they look festive without being too glitzy or loud. And as a bonus, we now have all twelve animals in the correct order as a reference. I wouldn’t be able to remember the sequence otherwise!

PS. Part of the tradition of Chinese New Year is getting a new outfit of clothes to wear on the first day of the new year. It’s supposed to signify a new and fresh beginning. So, there’ll be plenty of sewing going on the next month or so as I get new outfits ready for my four (and maybe even myself!).

Leave a Reply

