Skip to content
December 28, 2013 / fionamakes

A Laurel muslin

I took advantage of Colette Patterns’ Thanksgiving sale to buy the Laurel dress and blouse pattern, and have only just gotten around to trying it out.

20131228-222108.jpg

I’d been vacillating about whether or not to get the pattern since it was released and I finally jumped because of the sale!

I decided to use this cream with navy polka dots fabric that I got from Chinatown. It wasn’t too expensive and I wasn’t that attached to the fabric so I thought it’d be okay to use for a muslin. I had some trouble with inserting the sleeves. When I first learned to insert sleeves, I learned to do them the flat way and ever since then, I always trip up with inserting sleeves in the round. There are a few small puckers that I couldn’t get rid of and they bug me!

Notwithstanding that, I was pretty happy with how the top turned out in the end. I like the elbow-length sleeves, and I like how comfortable the top feels without being too billowy.

20131228-223134.jpg

There were a couple of little people who wanted to get in on the photo!

Leave a Reply

