Skip to content
October 28, 2013 / fionamakes

An Everyday skirt

After the two Geranium dresses last week, I let myself get distracted with sewing for myself.

I made a skirt using Liesl + Co.’s recently released Everyday skirt pattern. (I’m a big fan of Liesl’s Oliver and S sewing patterns for kids!) To be honest, I wasn’t sure about how a gathered skirt would turn out on me, but after looking at a couple of versions online, I decided to just take a leap.

20131028-112645.jpg

This is actually the second skirt I made. The first was in a chocolate brown linen that I haven’t gotten around to photographing yet, in a size M. I thought the back of the skirt looked really poofy though, so I went down a size for my second version here. I like that the skirt’s side panels are smooth and not gathered. And it was a quick sew, which is always a good thing in my book. I did have to shorten the skirt by one and a half inches, but then, I’m short!

This is in a lightweight denim from Chinatown. I think I meant to make a dress out of this but I can’t remember which pattern I meant to use now. Anyway, I think it works well for the Everyday skirt. It’s not stiff and still has a nice weight to it.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Ruth / Oct 29 2013 11:00 am

    It looks great – the style is very flattering on you 🙂

    • fionamakes / Oct 29 2013 11:08 pm

      Thanks, Ruth! You know, I wasn’t sure at first but I think it’s growing on me!

Leave a Reply

