Skip to content
October 16, 2013 / fionamakes

A rustic apple tart, cheater version

One of my favourite memories from the year that my family spent in the US was going to an apple orchard to pick apples and make apple cider. It was such a novelty to pick apples! Apple season is in the fall, so the weather was wonderful especially after the intense southern Californian summer. The whole time we were there, I kept thinking of how much my dad would love it. As far as I can remember, my dad would eat an apple everyday. Every day. He never got sick of it. And my oldest son has inherited this love.

So when I saw this apple tart, I had to copy it! Only I used store- bought pastry because I’m convinced that our hot and humid weather makes making pastry dough from scratch incredibly hard. I followed all the other directions though, from sprinkling sugar over the apples before baking to drizzling apple-flavoured syrup over the tarts just before serving.

20131016-211633.jpg

I thought they were yummy, although my apple-loving son didn’t like them at all! Ah well. All that I made was eaten up before the night was done.

Leave a Reply

