Skip to content
September 3, 2013 / fionamakes

Button bookmarks

It’s Teachers’ day in Singapore on Friday. Time to show some appreciation. I personally can’t imagine being a full-time teacher to my own kids (homeschooling is pretty much out of the question!), let alone to a whole classroom of kids, so I have plenty of respect for what my kids’ teachers do.

I had planned to bake cookies initially, but changed my mind at the last minute. I may have gotten baking out of my system after the last few weeks. I love how these fabric covered button bookmarks turned out. So cute!

20130903-211048.jpg

Here they are on little cards ready to be gifted. The kids got to either write a little message or draw a picture on the cards before they were wrapped in translucent little bags and sealed with a sticker.

20130903-211212.jpg

Making the fabric covered buttons are easy enough, but I had a minor crisis trying to figure out how to attach the buttons to the paper clips, especially since these are standard paper clips with no glue pad. In the end, I just slipped the shank of the button onto the paper and added a small glob of E6000 to secure it. I had to prop up the paper clip as the glue dried, but after drying overnight, everything was nice and secure. Happiness!

Leave a comment